Home » Studies in Spirituality

Edition 30/2020

Below are the titles of the contributions Studies in Spirituality 30.
There is also 
an overview of the summaries of all contributions SIS 2020 .

  • Inigo Bocken, Editorial
  • Macario Ofilada Mina, Approach to the Absolute – Metaphysical Growth and Progress in Spiritual and Mystical Texts
  • David Coghlan, Developing a Spirituality of Scholarship – A First-Person Methodological Approach
  • Inigo Bocken, God in Human Action – Mysticism, Philosophy and Theology in Maurice Blondel
  • Joshua Furnal, The Kierkegaardian Shape of Romano Guardini’s Resilient Spirituality
  • Margaret Campbell, A Journey into the Mystery of Salvation – The Influence of Saint Bonaventure’s Itinerarium on Catherine LaCugna’s Integrative Vision of Christian Life
  • Albrecht Classen, The Power of Spirituality in the Middle Ages and the Early Modern Age – From the Medieval Mystic Hildegard of Bingen to Jacob Böhme and Johann Scheffler (Angelus Silesius): Messages from the Past for Our Future?
  • Sander Vloebergs, Banned from Heaven and Earth – A Creative Theological Analysis of Interspace based on the Themes of Purgatory and Exile in the Mulieres Religiosae
  • Marc De Kesel, Eckhart, Fénelon & the Question of the Subject – On Self and Selflessness in Early Modern Mysticism
  • Thomas Quartier, Prayer as Form-of-Life – Monastic Practices of Spirituality by Thomas Merton
  • Shé Mackenzie Hawke, Seeking Matrology – A Reconsideration of the Under-/Misrepresentation of Early Church Women
  • Lenart Škof, Being in the Heart of the Matter – Reflections on the Cosmic Christ for a New Theology of Nature
  • Book Notices
  • On the Authors

Editorial Board

Titus Brandsma Institute Nijmegen (Netherlands)
Dr. I.M.K. Bocken
Dr. M.A.B.M. De Kesel
Prof. Dr. T. Quartier

Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. A. Cacciotti, Pontifical University Antonianum Rome
Prof. Dr. M. Canévet, University of Strasbourg (Em.)
Prof. Dr. J. Dan, Hebrew University of Jerusalem (Em.)
Prof. Dr. E. Dreyer, Fairfield University
Prof. Dr. K. Egan, Saint Mary’s College Notre Dame (Em.)
Prof. Dr. R. Elior, Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Prof. Dr. A. Geels, Lund University
Prof. Dr. C. Kourie, University of South Africa Johannesburg (Em.)
Prof. Dr. B. McGinn, University of Chicago (Em.)
Prof. Dr. S. Schneiders, Jesuit School of Theology Berkeley
Prof. Dr. P. Sheldrake, Cambridge Theological Federation


Studies in Spirituality
Att. Wendy Litjens
Titus Brandsma Institute
Erasmusplein 1
NL-6525 HT  Nijmegen

Note to contributors

Please send an electronic version of your manuscript to the editorial secretary:
Mrs. W.M. Litjens
Titus Brandsma Institute

The deadline for incoming articles for the forthcoming issue (31/2021) is February 1, 2021.
Please, read our Editorial Guidelines before sending your manuscript.